# TasTESOL 2020 Annual General Meeting

### **MINUTES**

## 4.45 - 5.45pm Wednesday 27th May 2020

Via Zoom (due to restrictions on face-to-face meetings during the Coronavirus pandemic)

There were 5 separate docs circulated with the agenda (Minutes of 2019 AGM, 2020 President's Report, 2020 Treasurer's Report, 2020 ACTA Councillor's Report, Committee position descriptions).

### **Present**

<u>Members</u>: Mary Blake, Mary Brooke, Andrea Brumby, Marlene Chesney (President & Chair), Daniela Dadswell, Iryna Dwyer, Maree-rose Jones, Jenny Markos, Bill McCann (Secretary & Minutes), Helen Parry, Heather Thompson, Cristy Walker, Liz Webster, Jack Williamson

Non-members: Ruth Baily, Hayley McLeod, Lucy Slevin, Vicki Walker

Total attendance: 14 members, 4 non-members

## **Apologies**

<u>Members</u>: Tom Daly, Kylie Engisch, Ian Hewitt, Caroline Norman, Morag Porteous, Anne Rothwell. <u>Non-member</u>: Lisa Risby

1. The **Minutes** of the 2019 AGM were accepted as an accurate record.

Moved by Cristy Walker, seconded by Helen Parry.

- 2. There were two matters arising from the Minutes of the 2019 AGM
  - i) At the committee meeting (5<sup>th</sup> March 2020) Maree-rose Jones was confirmed as TasTESOL's ACTA Councillor, and the official ACTA nomination

- form was completed all in time for ACTA's 2020 AGM on 2nd April 2020.
- ii) Also, re matters arising from the 2018 Minutes, TasTESOL's records with the ATO were updated in 2019. The forms were sent in but there's been no response as yet.

## 3. Reports

- (i) Marlene Chesney circulated her **President's Report** for the past year before the meeting. At the meeting she noted that the 2019 conference had been a success and she thanked SacredHeartCollege for providing the venue and Kandy Parker for arranging this. She also thanked Daniela Dadswell and Helen Parry for arranging the free use of Elizabeth College Library rooms for the three forums.
- (ii) Daniela Dadswell's **Treasurer's Report** for 2019 was also circulated beforehand and accompanied by the Financial Auditor's confirmation/signature. She noted that the major expense of 2019 had been the conference (\$4,620.75) but that TasTESOL's bank balance was strong (currently about \$7,000). Marlene thanked John Dwyer for doing the audit and for providing his services free. A typo in the report will be corrected: in the 'Bank reconciliation for the calendar year' box, '31/12/18' should be '31/12/19'.

Subject to this correction, the Treasurer's Report was accepted by the meeting - moved by Liz Webster, seconded by Cristy Walker.

(iii) The ACTA Councillors' Report by Maree-rose Jones was circulated before the meeting. Maree-rose encouraged AMEP teachers to check the ACTA website regarding issues ACTA makes to the government, on behalf of the AMEP. She also thought it would be good for TasTESOL to have a second ACTA councillor, especially someone involved in AMEP.

# 4. Clarification of membership period

There was a proposal to change the membership dates from  $1^{st}$  January  $-31^{st}$  December to  $1^{st}$  April  $-31^{st}$  March. At present, the vast majority of people renew their membership at the time of our conference, held in April or May. This leaves a gap (Dec - April/May) when officially, we have few members; but this is often when discounts are offered for members for some events (e.g. ACTA conferences, other associations' webinars).

There was a suggestion to maybe align membership with the financial year. However, if membership expired in June, and our main event, the conference was in April/May there would be little incentive to rejoin that year after the conference.

There was also a question about the constitution allowing the auditing and membership periods to be different.

<u>Proposal</u>: that our membership period go from 1<sup>st</sup> April – 31<sup>st</sup> March starting in 2020

(i.e. 2020 memberships will expire on 31st March 2021).

The change was accepted by the meeting — moved by Daniela Dadswell, seconded by Maree-rose Jones. However, in following up the question of different auditing and membership periods the next day, the auditor, John Dwyer said it is 'normal practice' for these to align. Furthermore, he suggested that altering the auditing period would be awkward. Hence, whether to proceed with the changed membership period or to keep the old one would be referred to the next committee meeting.

### 5. Election of committee & office bearers

The committee elected in 2019 was Marlene Chesney (President), Daniela Dadswell (Treasurer), Kylie Engisch, Maree-rose Jones (ACTA Councillor), Bill McCann (Secretary), Hayley McLeod, Helen Parry and Lucy Slevin (website admin). Resignations: In late 2019, Kylie resigned from the committee due to work commitments. Daniela also resigned from being Treasurer due to a trial move to , but she has returned to Hobart and remained on the committee. Bill also decided not to stand for a committee position in 2020.

The current committee positions were all declared vacant, followed by a call for nominations and/or volunteers for a new committee.

The following people volunteered to join or re-join the committee: Marlene Chesney, Hayley

McLeod, Andrea Brumby, Daniela Dadswell, Helen Parry, Cristy Walker, Maree-rose Jones and Lucy Slevin. Vicki Walker (nominated by Bill McCann, seconded by Marlene Chesney) said she would like to join the committee.

There was a call for nominations and/or volunteers for office bearers and the meeting agreed on the following committee:

President – Marlene Chesney

Secretary – vacant

Treasurer - Daniela Dadswell

ACTA Councillors - Vicki Walker\* and Maree-rose Jones

Website administrator – Lucy Slevin\*

Committee members – Andrea Brumby, Hayley McLeod\*, Helen Parry and Cristy Walker.

\*subject to membership fees being paid promptly

The position of Secretary will be decided at a committee meeting. There was a suggestion to split the secretary's duties into two areas (e.g. 'minutes' and 'correspondence') and for two people to share.

## 6. Other business

- (i) <u>Membership fees</u>: Marlene clarified that the reduced membership fee (\$40) was for 2020 only and that once normal events (mainly the conference) resumed in 2021, the previous fees would apply (\$60 individual, \$50 institution, \$45 f/t student). The meeting agreed to this.
- (ii) <u>Life membership</u>: Marlene read an email from a current member and past president, Tom Daly, proposing that Bill McCann be awarded 'life membership' for his many years of service to the TasTESOL committee. Marlene and a number of other members endorsed this. Bill was surprised and gratefully accepted.